EFL Championship | England - an overview

The England Championship or EFL Championship (English Football League Championship) is the second level of professional football in England. It is the highest division of the English Football League and sits just below the Premier League. The Championship is often described as the toughest of the UK based leagues, with teams fighting for promotion. Promotion from this league comes with a serious cash boost to the club, and promotion to the Premier League. There are 24 clubs fighting for the right to play in the Championship. This league is predominantly made up of English teams, with two Welsh teams. The Championship plays for two domestic cups in the FA Cup and League Cup. Qualification to the UEFA Europa League is possible through both domestic cups. Relegation takes the bottom three teams to League One football.

Participating teams

  • Aston Villa
    Villa Park, Birmingham
  • Barnsley FC
  • Birmingham City
    St Andrew's, Birmingham
  • Blackburn Rovers FC
    Ewood Park, Blackburn
  • Bolton Wanderers FC
    The Macron Stadium, Bolton
  • Brentford FC
    Griffin Park, Brentford
  • Bristol City
    Ashton Gate, Bristol
  • Cardiff City FC
    Cardiff City Stadium
  • Charlton Athletic FC
    The Valley
  • Derby County FC
    Pride Park Stadium, Derby
  • Fulham FC
    Craven Cottage
  • Huddersfield Town
    John Smith's Stadium
  • Hull City
    KC Stadium, Kingston upon Hull
  • Ipswich Town FC
    Portman Road, Ipswich
  • Leeds United
    Elland Road, Leeds
  • Luton Town
     Kenilworth Road Stadium
  • Middlesbrough FC
    Riverside Stadium, Middlesbrough
  • Millwall FC
    The Den, London
  • Norwich City FC
    Carrow Road, Norwich
  • Nottingham Forest
    City Ground, Nottingham
  • Preston North End FC
    Deepdale Stadium, Preston
  • Queens Park Rangers
    Loftus Road, London
  • Reading FC
    Madejski Stadium, Reading
  • Rotherham United FC
    AESSEAL New York Stadium, Rotherham
  • Sheffield United
    Bramall Lane, Sheffield
  • Sheffield Wednesday
    Hillsborough, Sheffield
  • Stoke City
    Britannia Stadium, Stoke-on-Trent
  • Swansea City AFC
    Liberty Stadium, Swansea
  • West Bromwich Albion
    The Hawthorns, Birmingham
  • Wigan Athletic FC
    DW Stadium, Wigan


1Leeds United Logo Leeds United464293
2West Bromwich Albion Logo West Bromwich Albion463283
3Brentford FC Logo Brentford FC464281
4Fulham FC Logo Fulham FC461681
5Cardiff City FC Logo Cardiff City FC461073
6Swansea City AFC Logo Swansea City AFC46970
7Nottingham Forest Logo Nottingham Forest46870
8Millwall FC Logo Millwall FC46668
9Preston North End FC Logo Preston North End FC46566
10Derby County FC Logo Derby County FC46-264
11Blackburn Rovers FC Logo Blackburn Rovers FC46363
12Bristol City Logo Bristol City46-563
13Wigan Athletic FC Logo Wigan Athletic FC46159
14Queens Park Rangers Logo Queens Park Rangers46-958
15Reading FC Logo Reading FC46156
16Stoke City Logo Stoke City46-656
17Sheffield Wednesday Logo Sheffield Wednesday46-856
18Middlesbrough FC Logo Middlesbrough FC46-1353
19Huddersfield Town Logo Huddersfield Town46-1851
20Luton Town Logo Luton Town46-2851
21Birmingham City Logo Birmingham City46-2150
22Barnsley FC Logo Barnsley FC46-2049
23Charlton Athletic FC Logo Charlton Athletic FC46-1548
24Hull City Logo Hull City46-3045

Other popular matches