Eredivisie | Netherlands - an overview

The Netherlands Eredivisie is the top league of Hollands professional footballing body of the Royal Dutch FA. The meaning Eredivisie means "Honour” or "Premier". The Dutch league is a newcomer to the European and is currently ranked 11th best league in Europe according to UEFA. There are 18 clubs fighting for the right to be crowned the Dutch national championship. Ajax and PSV Eindhoven are the most prolific, with 25 and 21 titles respectively. There is no promotion from the Netherlands Eredivisie, but the top team qualifies for the UEFA Champions League, with the runner up entering the 2nd stage qualifying round. Third and fourth qualify for the Europa League. One further Europa League place is determined by the domestic cup competition the KNVB Cup.

Upcoming matches

Participating teams

  • ADO Den Haag
    Cars Jeans Stadion, Den Haag
  • AZ Alkmaar
    AFAS Stadion, Alkmaar
  • Ajax Amsterdam
    Johan Cruijff Arena, Amsterdam
  • FC Emmen
    JenS Vesting, Emmen
  • FC Groningen
    Euroborg, Groningen
  • FC Utrecht
    Stadion Galgenwaard, Utrecht
  • Feyenoord Rotterdam
    De Kuip, Rotterdam
  • Fortuna Sittard
    Fortuna Sittard Stadion, Sittard
  • Heracles Almelo
    Polman Stadion, Almelo
  • PEC Zwolle
    IJsseldelta Stadion, Zwolle
  • PSV Eindhoven
    Philips Stadion, Eindhoven
  • RKC Waalwijk
    Mandemakers Stadion, Waalwijk
  • SC Heerenveen
    Abe Lenstra Stadion, Heerenveen
  • Sparta Rotterdam
    Sparta Stadion, Rotterdam
  • Twente Enschede
    De Grolsch Veste, Enschede
  • VVV Venlo
    De Koel, Venlo
  • Vitesse Arnhem
    GelreDome, Arnhem
  • Willem II Tilburg
    Koning Willem II Stadion, Tilburg


1SC Heerenveen Logo SC Heerenveen246
2Ajax Amsterdam Logo Ajax Amsterdam246
3PSV Eindhoven Logo PSV Eindhoven236
4Vitesse Arnhem Logo Vitesse Arnhem236
5VVV Venlo Logo VVV Venlo224
6Twente Enschede Logo Twente Enschede224
7Feyenoord Rotterdam Logo Feyenoord Rotterdam224
8Willem II Tilburg Logo Willem II Tilburg223
9FC Groningen Logo FC Groningen2-13
10Heracles Almelo Logo Heracles Almelo2-23
11FC Utrecht Logo FC Utrecht101
12AZ Alkmaar Logo AZ Alkmaar101
13PEC Zwolle Logo PEC Zwolle2-21
14FC Emmen Logo FC Emmen2-30
15Sparta Rotterdam Logo Sparta Rotterdam2-30
16ADO Den Haag Logo ADO Den Haag2-30
17Fortuna Sittard Logo Fortuna Sittard2-40
18RKC Waalwijk Logo RKC Waalwijk2-40

Other popular matches