Ligue 1 | France - an overview

The France Ligue 1 and the history of the French Football Championship dates back to 1932, under the name of the National Division. A name that remained for 40 years until it was renamed the D1 (for Division 1) in 1972. The modern-day league which has been built on the history of D1 has become a world leader in domestic football is called "Ligue 1". Due to advertising rights, the official name is the Ligue 1 Conforama. A name that is agreed through to 2019/20/ season. The France Ligue 1 is made up of 20 clubs that are spread out across France, with one club AS Monaco being the only non-French club in the league. Each season runs from summer through to spring of the following year. 38 matches are then organized, with the champion team of in this league being the club that finishes the season at the top of the leader board. There is no promotion from Ligue 1, but the top three teams qualify for the UEFA Champions League. Fourth place qualifies for the Europa League. Two further Europa League places are determined by domestic cup competitions, the Coupe de France and Coupe de la Ligue. In contrast, relegation to the second division applies to teams occupying the last two places at the end of the season. They are then replaced by the first two teams of the lower level. The team winning the jump in league 2 also faces the third in the final ranking of the championship of France, thus avoiding the triple direct relegation.

Upcoming matches

Participating teams

AS Monaco, AS Saint-Étienne, Amiens SC, Angers SCO, Dijon FCO, FC Metz, FC Nantes, Girondins Bordeaux, Lille OSC, Montpellier HSC, Nîmes Olympique, OGC Nice, Olympique Lyonnais, Olympique Marseille, Paris Saint Germain, Racing Strasbourg, Stade Brestois, Stade Reims, Stade Rennes, Toulouse FC

Related stadiums

Allianz Riviera - OGC Nice, Parc Olympique Lyonnais - Olympique Lyonnais, Parc des Princes - Paris Saint Germain, Roazhon Park - Stade Rennes, Stade Auguste Delaune - Stade Reims, Stade Chaban-Delmas - Girondins Bordeaux, Stade Francis-Le Blé - Stade Brestois, Stade Gaston Gérard - Dijon FCO, Stade Geoffroy-Guichard - AS Saint-Étienne, Stade Jean-Bouin - Angers SCO, Stade Louis II - AS Monaco, Stade Pierre-Mauroy - Lille OSC, Stade Saint-Symphorien - FC Metz, Stade Vélodrome - Olympique Marseille, Stade de la Beaujoire - FC Nantes, Stade de la Licorne - Amiens SC, Stade de la Meinau - Racing Strasbourg, Stade de la Mosson - Montpellier HSC, Stade des Costières - Nîmes Olympique, Stadium Municipal - Toulouse FC

Ligue 1 Standings

1Paris Saint Germain Logo Paris Saint Germain264765
2Olympique Marseille Logo Olympique Marseille261152
3Stade Rennes Logo Stade Rennes26744
4Lille OSC Logo Lille OSC26643
5AS Monaco Logo AS Monaco26139
6Racing Strasbourg Logo Racing Strasbourg26338
7Olympique Lyonnais Logo Olympique Lyonnais261437
8Stade Reims Logo Stade Reims26437
9Montpellier HSC Logo Montpellier HSC26337
10OGC Nice Logo OGC Nice26237
11FC Nantes Logo FC Nantes26037
12Girondins Bordeaux Logo Girondins Bordeaux26635
13Stade Brestois Logo Stade Brestois26-134
14Angers SCO Logo Angers SCO26-833
15AS Saint-Étienne Logo AS Saint-Étienne26-1429
16FC Metz Logo FC Metz26-1028
17Dijon FCO Logo Dijon FCO26-727
18Nîmes Olympique Logo Nîmes Olympique26-1327
19Amiens SC Logo Amiens SC26-1822
20Toulouse FC Logo Toulouse FC26-3313