Bundesliga | Germany - an overview

One of the most successful professional men’s football leagues in Europe is the Germany Bundesliga. The Bundesliga is the official German Federal League’s top level of professional football with some of the highest average stadium attendance worldwide. There are 18 teams that contest the right to play in the Bundesliga. Each team fights for dominance in the league as well as the chance at lifting 2 domestic cups. The DFB-Pokal And the DFL-Super-Cup. As of the 2019 season, Bayern Munich has taken the league title a staggering 27 times. All the Germany Bundesliga clubs have proven themselves in Europe too, with seven UEFA Champions League trophies and six UEFA Europa League trophies between them. There is no promotion from the Bundesliga, but the top four teams qualify for the UEFA Champions League. Fifth place qualifies for the Europa League group stage, with sixth place entering the third qualifying round of Europa League. The DFB-Pokal (German Cup) winner qualifies for the group phase of UEFA Europa League regardless of league position. Relegation from the Bundesliga drops to the 2. Bundesliga, with the bottom two teams at the end of the season being relegated. The 16th-placed Bundesliga team and the third-placed 2. Bundesliga team enter a two-leg play-off match. The winner of this match plays the next season in the Bundesliga and the loser in the 2. Bundesliga.

Upcoming matches

Participating teams

  • 1.FC Cologne
    Rheinenergiestadion, Köln
  • 1899 Hoffenheim
    Rhein-Neckar-Arena, Hoffenheim
  • Arminia Bielefeld
    Bielefelder Alm
  • Bayer Leverkusen
    BayArena, Leverkusen
  • Bayern Munich
    Allianz Arena, Munich
  • Borussia Dortmund
    Signal Iduna Park, Dortmund
  • Borussia M'gladbach
    Borussia-Park, Mönchengladbach
  • Eintracht Frankfurt
    Commerzbank-Arena, Frankfurt
  • FC Augsburg
    sgl Arena, Augsburg
  • FSV Mainz 05
    Coface Arena, Mainz
  • Hertha BSC
    Olympiastadion Berlin, Berlin
  • RB Leipzig
    Red Bull Arena, Leipzig
  • SC Freiburg
    Schwarzwald-Stadion, Freiburg
  • Schalke 04
    Veltins Arena, Gelsenkirchen
  • Union Berlin
    Stadion An der Alten Försterei, Berlin
  • VfB Stuttgart
  • VfL Wolfsburg
    Volkswagen Arena, Wolfsburg
  • Werder Bremen
    Weserstadion, Bremen


1Bayern Munich Logo Bayern Munich183
2Hertha BSC Logo Hertha BSC133
3Borussia Dortmund Logo Borussia Dortmund133
4FC Augsburg Logo FC Augsburg123
5RB Leipzig Logo RB Leipzig123
61899 Hoffenheim Logo 1899 Hoffenheim113
7SC Freiburg Logo SC Freiburg113
8Eintracht Frankfurt Logo Eintracht Frankfurt101
9Arminia Bielefeld Logo Arminia Bielefeld101
10Bayer Leverkusen Logo Bayer Leverkusen101
11VfL Wolfsburg Logo VfL Wolfsburg101
121.FC Cologne Logo 1.FC Cologne1-10
13VfB Stuttgart Logo VfB Stuttgart1-10
14Union Berlin Logo Union Berlin1-20
15FSV Mainz 05 Logo FSV Mainz 051-20
16Werder Bremen Logo Werder Bremen1-30
17Borussia M'gladbach Logo Borussia M'gladbach1-30
18Schalke 04 Logo Schalke 041-80

Other popular matches