La Liga | Spain - an overview

The Primera División is the top flight of professional football in Spain. The official title is the “Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Primera División”, but is widely and more commonly known as La Liga. There are 20 teams fighting for the right to play in one of Europe’s most watched football league. Players from around the world test their skills against some of the biggest names in football. La Liga boasts some of the most successful clubs in the world too, with Real Madrid and Barcelona having netted 18 Champions League trophies and 7 FIFA Club World Cup trophies between them. There is no promotion from La Liga A, but the top four teams qualify for the UEFA Champions League. Fifth place qualifies for the Europa League. Two further Europa League places are determined by domestic cup competitions, Copa del Rey and the Supercopa de España.

Upcoming matches

Participating teams

Athletic Bilbao, Atlético Madrid, CA Osasuna, CD Alavés, CD Leganés, CF Valencia, CF Villarreal, Celta de Vigo, Espanyol Barcelona, FC Barcelona, FC Sevilla, Getafe CF, Girona FC, Granada CF, RCD Mallorca, Rayo Vallecano de Madrid, Real Betis Sevilla, Real Madrid, Real Sociedad, Real Valladolid CF, SD Eibar, SD Huesca, UD Levante

Related stadiums

Anoeta - Real Sociedad, Bahçeşehir Okulları Stadium, Camp Nou - FC Barcelona, Coliseum Alfonso Pérez - Getafe CF, Estadi Ciutat de València - UD Levante, Estadi Cornellà-El Prat - Espanyol Barcelona, Estadi de Mestalla - CF Valencia, Estadio Benito Villamarín - Real Betis Sevilla, Estadio El Madrigal - CF Villarreal, Estadio El Sadar - CA Osasuna, Estadio Mendizorroza - CD Alavés, Estadio Municipal de Balaídos - Celta de Vigo, Estadio Municipal de Butarque - CD Leganés, Estadio Nuevo José Zorrilla - Real Valladolid CF, Estadio Nuevo Los Cármenes - Granada CF, Estadio Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán - FC Sevilla, Estadio Santiago Bernabéu - Real Madrid, Iberostar Stadium - RCD Mallorca, Ipurua Municipal Stadium - SD Eibar, San Mamés - Athletic Bilbao, Vicente Calderón - Atlético Madrid

La Liga Standings

1Real Madrid Logo Real Madrid123
2FC Sevilla Logo FC Sevilla123
3RCD Mallorca Logo RCD Mallorca113
4Real Valladolid CF Logo Real Valladolid CF113
5CD Alavés Logo CD Alavés113
6Atlético Madrid Logo Atlético Madrid113
7Athletic Bilbao Logo Athletic Bilbao113
8CA Osasuna Logo CA Osasuna113
9CF Villarreal Logo CF Villarreal101
10Granada CF Logo Granada CF101
11Real Sociedad Logo Real Sociedad101
12CF Valencia Logo CF Valencia101
13SD Eibar Logo SD Eibar1-10
14Real Betis Sevilla Logo Real Betis Sevilla1-10
15FC Barcelona Logo FC Barcelona1-10
16Getafe CF Logo Getafe CF1-10
17UD Levante Logo UD Levante1-10
18CD Leganés Logo CD Leganés1-10
19Celta de Vigo Logo Celta de Vigo1-20
20Espanyol Barcelona Logo Espanyol Barcelona1-20