Frauen-Bundesliga | Germany - an overview

The origins of the Germany Frauen-Bundesliga or German Women's Bundesliga dates back to 1990. At that time the league was split into a so-called North and South relay. Ten teams on either side of the divide played in the original leagues. Each team played twice is two 40 minute halves. In 1997, the current single-track Bundesliga was introduced, in which twelve teams fought for the championship title in a home and away round. An additional change in 1993 brought the Women’s league play duration to 45 minutes each way. A game-time level with the male game. More importantly, each game was refereed by a female referee. The popularity of the Women’s game and their successes across Europe. This has earned the Frauen-Bundesliga prestigious sponsorship deals such as Allianz Versicherung and the current (2018/9 season) Flyeralarm. As with the male game, points are awarded in as 3 points for a win. Likewise, 1 point for a draw and nothing for a loss. Any and all tiebreakers are in descending order of goal difference, goals for, and head-to-head results. If at the end of the season the tie in the league table cannot be broken, an additional “tie-break” game is played. At the end of the season, after the regular 22 match days, the first and second-placed team of the Germany Frauen-Bundesliga qualifies for the UEFA Women's Champions League. The bottom two placed teams are relegated to the 2. Bundesliga (Frauen division).

Participating teams

  • 1. FC Köln Women
  • 1.FFC Frankfurt Women
    Stadion am Brentanobad
  • 1.FFC Turbine Potsdam Women
  • Bayer Leverkusen Women
  • Bayern München Frauen
    Grünwalder Stadion
  • Eintracht Frankfurt W
  • MSV Duisburg Women
  • SC Freiburg Women
  • SC Sand Women
    Orsay-Stadion, Willstätt
  • SG Essen-Schönebeck Women
    Stadion Essen
  • SV Meppen Women
  • TSG 1899 Hoffenheim Women
  • USV Jena Women
  • VfL Wolfsburg Frauen
    AOK-Stadion Wolfsburg
  • Werder Bremen Women


1Bayern München Frauen Logo Bayern München Frauen2106
21.FFC Frankfurt Women Logo 1.FFC Frankfurt Women266
3VfL Wolfsburg Frauen Logo VfL Wolfsburg Frauen266
4Bayer Leverkusen Women236
51.FFC Turbine Potsdam Women Logo 1.FFC Turbine Potsdam Women224
6SC Freiburg Women Logo SC Freiburg Women223
7SV Meppen Women202
8MSV Duisburg Women Logo MSV Duisburg Women2-21
9TSG 1899 Hoffenheim Women Logo TSG 1899 Hoffenheim Women2-50
10SG Essen-Schönebeck Women Logo SG Essen-Schönebeck Women2-50
11Werder Bremen Women2-80
12SC Sand Women Logo SC Sand Women2-90

Other popular matches