Eliteserien | Norway - an overview

The Eliteserien is the top level of men’s professional football in the Norwegian league for association football clubs. There are 16 clubs playing for the right to challenge for the two domestic cups, the Norwegian Cup and the Mesterfinalen. This league also plays into UEFA European qualifiers too. Seasons run a little different due to weather conditions in Norway, so a typical season is between March to November. The teams are made up of seven teams from Eastern Norway, five are from Western Norway, and two teams based north of the Arctic Circle. Tromsø holds the title as the northernmost top-level football club in the world. There is no promotion from the Eliteserien, but the top team at the end of the season qualifies for the UEFA Champions League. The runner up enters the 2nd stage qualifying round of the Champions League. Third and fourth-placed teams qualify for the Europa League. One further Europa League place is determined by domestic cup competition. Relegation from the Eliteserien league feeds into the 1. Divisjon.

Participating teams

Bodø/Glimt, FK Haugesund, Kristiansund BK, Lillestrøm SK, Mjøndalen IF, Molde FK, Odds Ballklubb, Ranheim IL, Rosenborg BK, SK Brann, Sarpsborg 08, Stabæk IF, Strømsgodset IF, Tromsø IL, Viking FK, Vålerenga IF

Related stadiums

Aker Stadion - Molde FK, Alfheim Stadion - Tromsø IL, Aspmyra Stadion - Bodø/Glimt, Brann Stadion - SK Brann, EXTRA Arena - Ranheim IL, Haugesund Stadion - FK Haugesund, Intility Arena - Vålerenga IF, Isachsen Stadion - Mjøndalen IF, Kristiansund stadion - Kristiansund BK, Lerkendal Stadion - Rosenborg BK, Marienlyst Stadion - Strømsgodset IF, Nadderud Stadion - Stabæk IF, SR-Bank Arena - Viking FK, Sarpsborg Stadion - Sarpsborg 08, Skagerak Arena - Odds Ballklubb, Åråsen Stadion - Lillestrøm SK

Eliteserien Standings

1Molde FK Logo Molde FK304168
2Bodø/Glimt Logo Bodø/Glimt302054
3Rosenborg BK Logo Rosenborg BK301252
4Odds Ballklubb Logo Odds Ballklubb30552
5Viking FK Logo Viking FK301347
6Kristiansund BK Logo Kristiansund BK30041
7FK Haugesund Logo FK Haugesund30740
8Stabæk IF Logo Stabæk IF30240
9SK Brann Logo SK Brann30-540
10Vålerenga IF Logo Vålerenga IF30-534
11Strømsgodset IF Logo Strømsgodset IF30-1332
12Sarpsborg 08 Logo Sarpsborg 0830-1030
13Mjøndalen IF Logo Mjøndalen IF30-1430
14Lillestrøm SK Logo Lillestrøm SK30-1530
15Tromsø IL Logo Tromsø IL30-1930
16Ranheim IL Logo Ranheim IL30-1927